Time Running Out to Nominate for Several IAFC Awards

About two week remain to make a nomination for any of several International Association of Fire Chiefs awards. One nomination deadline is June 2, while the second is July 11. Nominations must be sent to IAFC headquarters by those deadlines.

If you have questions, e-mail them to [email protected]

The June 2 deadline applies to:

* The International Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor, co-sponsored by Motorola and presented to deserving firefighters for expert training, professional service, and dedication to duty displayed in saving a human life (award coordinator: Jacqueline Garnier, 703-537-4807)
* The IAFC Fire Service Award for Excellence, co-sponsored by U.S. Safety Fire Technologies and recognizing innovations and success in managing resources to reduce the loss of life and property from fire and other emergencies (coordinator: Garnier)
* The Safety, Health and Survival Section Awards (coordinator: Vicki Lee, 571-221-2813, [email protected]), which include the Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award, co-sponsored by Provident Insurance and honoring the chief executive officer of a fire department (of any size or composition) who has demonstrated a unique commitment to fire service health and safety; the Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award, which is presented to an IAFC/SHS member in recognition of personal commitment and achievement in the area of health and safety; the Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award, which was recently renamed to honor the work of Deputy Fire Chief Billy Goldfeder, who chairs the Safety, Health and Survival Section, and is presented to fire service organizations that have demonstrated an outstanding commitment or significant contribution in the area of fire service health and safety; and Safety Officer of the Year, co-sponsored by the Fire Department Safety Officers Association and recognizing a safety officer in a fire department (of any size or composition) who has made a significant contribution in the area of health and safety to his or her organization or the fire service as a whole.
* The Excellence in Fire and Life Safety Award, sponsored by the International Code Council and honoring those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire prevention practices, and leadership techniques and who have served as examples to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals (coordinator: Joelle Fishkin, 703-537-4843 or [email protected]).

The July 11 deadline applies to the National Fire Fighter Near-Miss Reporting System Safety Leadership Award, which recognizes firefighters and fire departments that use the Near-Miss Reporting System as a part of their program to prevent line-of-duty deaths and injuries in their departments (coordinator: Amy Hultman, 703-537-4848 or [email protected]).

Industrial Hygiene Product Showcase

  • Kestrel Heat Stress Monitoring System

    Kestrel Heat Stress Monitoring System

    Ensure worker safety & regulatory compliance with the Kestrel® Heat Stress Monitoring System. With real-time remote access to critical data, leaders have the information to make timely decisions preventing workplace heat-related injuries and incidents. The Kestrel 5400 Heat Stress Tracker with LiNK connects via Bluetooth to a wall-mounted remote monitoring tablet showing current data. Use the Kestrel LiNK app to manage and log work conditions, view graphs, and create shareable reports. The Ambient Weather Network (AWN) online portal and app offer remote monitoring capabilities for 24-7 visibility, including a custom dashboard and the ability to set alerts for changing conditions. 3

  • The MGC Simple Plus

    The MGC Simple Plus

    The MGC Simple Plus is a simple-to-use, portable multi gas detector that runs continuously for three years without needing to be recharged or routinely calibrated after its initial charge and calibration during manufacturing. The detector reliably tests a worksite’s atmosphere for hydrogen sulfide, carbon monoxide, oxygen and combustible gases (LEL). Additionally, it is durable enough to withstand the harshest treatment and environments, which is why it has an IP 68 rating. The MGC Simple Plus is also compatible with a variety of accessories, such as Gas Clip Technologies’ new GCT External Pump. Visit gascliptech.com for more information. 3

  • Certified Class 2 Div 2 Vacuums

    Certified Class 2 Div 2 Vacuums

    Nilfisk delivers a full line of industrial vacuums designed to meet NFPA 652 housekeeping requirements for collecting combustible dust in Class I, Group D and Class II, Groups E, F & G or non-classified environments. Our pneumatic vacuums also meet the requirements for safe use in hazardous environments. Nilfisk advanced filtration technology safely captures combustible materials dispersed in your plant - everything from fuels, solvents and metal dust to flour, sugar and pharmaceutical powders. 3