ACGIH Announces 2019 Award Recipients

The recipients will be honored during next month's American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition. It take place May 20-22 in Minneapolis, Minn.

ACGIH®, the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, has announced the recipients of its 2019 Awards, who will be honored during next month's American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition. It take place May 20-22 in Minneapolis, Minn. The 2019 awardees are:

  • Herbert E. Stokinger Award: Vincent Castranova, Ph.D. This award is given each year to an individual who has made a significant contribution in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology. Castranova is a professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at West Virginia University, an adjunct professor in the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health at the University of Pittsburgh, and a Visiting Scientist in the Department of Environmental Health at the Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health.
  • John J. Bloomfield Award: Phillip Rauscher, MPH, CSP, CIH. This award is presented to a young industrial hygienist who pursues the problem of occupational health hazards, primarily by doing fieldwork. Rauscher is an Industrial Safety Hygienist at the State of Ohio Division of Safety and Hygiene. He works primarily in the field, performing comprehensive industrial hygiene and engineering surveys to anticipate, identify, evaluate and control airborne contaminants, noise levels, and heat/cold stress.
  • Meritorious Achievement Award: Lynn C. O'Donnell, CIH. This award recognizes members of ACGIH who have made an outstanding, long-term contribution to the progress of occupational health and environmental hygiene. First presented in 1957, it is the organization's oldest award. It has been given to individuals for singular achievement and to groups for collective accomplishment. O'Donnell served as executive director of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene from 1991 until her retirement in 2014. She also served as a member of the ABIH Board of Directors from 1983-1989 and as a Councilor for the Academy of Industrial Hygiene. O'Donnell is an AIHA Fellow, recipient of the ACGIH® John J. Bloomfield and AIHA Alice Hamilton Awards, and the first recipient of the ABIH Lynn C. O'Donnell Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • William Steiger Memorial Award: Michael J. Wright. This award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational health and safety. Wright is the Director of Health, Safety and Environment of the United Steelworkers. He trained as an industrial engineer at Cornell and an industrial hygienist at the Harvard School of Public Health. He joined the USW in 1977 and became department head in 1984. He also has served as the head of the union's education department, where he directed the training for participants in the joint union-management partnership programs in the steel industry.
  • Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award: Norma Donovan. This award was established in 2015 and first awarded in 2016. It recognizes outstanding individuals in the field of industrial ventilation. Donovan served the ACGIH® Industrial Ventilation Committee as an editorial consultant from its inception in 1950 through 2008. She was a major contributor to the publication of the first edition of ACGIH's "Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice." As the committee's official secretary, she held the primary responsibility for typing and assembly of 26 of the 30 editions of the Design Manual, as well as the first edition of its companion manual, "Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice for Operations and Maintenance."

OH&S Digital Edition

  • OHS Magazine Digital Edition - June 2020

    June 2020


      Recognizing and Mitigating Static Electricity Hazards
    • OIL & GAS
      New Gas Detection Technology
      Stop Sweating Heat Stress
      Electricity is Everywhere
    View This Issue