GHSA Still Accepting Nominations for 2018 Safety Awards

The association presents awards each year at its annual meeting to recognize organizations and individuals for achievements in highway safety. The 2018 meeting is taking place Aug. 25-29 in Atlanta, and nominations are being accepted through April 11.

The Governors Highway Safety Association is accepting nominations through April 11 for 2018 Highway Safety Awards it will present during its 2018 annual meeting. The Aug. 25-29 meeting has the theme "Joining Forces to Get to Zero: Partnerships in Traffic Safety" and will take place at Atlanta's Westin Peachtree Plaza.

These are awards GHSA presents each year at its annual meeting to recognize organizations and individuals for achievements in highway safety. They include the James J. Howard Highway Safety Trailblazer Award, the association's highest award, which honors an individual for sustained, outstanding leadership in endeavors that significantly improve highway safety. Its most recent two winners are Dr. Adrian K. Lund, Ph.D., from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, and Dr. David A. Sleet, Ph.D., from CDC's National Center for Injury Prevention and Control.

The other two awards are the Kathryn J.R. Swanson Public Service Award, which is GHSA's newest award, introduced in 2008, and honors an individual who has made notable improvements in the management or implementation of a highway safety program or policy, or provided outstanding service to GHSA, federal safety agencies, or other national highway safety organizations; and the Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Awards, which recognize notable achievements in the field of highway safety by individuals, coalitions, organizations, nonprofit groups, businesses, media, government agencies, universities, or programs.

The most recent two recipients of the Swanson Public Service Award are William L. Hall of the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center and Trenda McPherson, the state bicycle and pedestrian safety program manager at the Florida Department of Transportation's Traffic Safety Office.

The 2017 winners of the O'Rourke Special Achievement Awards were North Carolina's Watch for Me NC program to reduce bicyclists' and pedestrians' deaths; Mississippi's Teen Driver Impact Program; and the Snohomish County Sheriff's Office in Washington state, honored for its program to that reduced employees' traffic-, pursuit-, and collision-related crash injuries and damages.

Download Center

HTML - No Current Item Deck
  • Get the Ultimate Guide to OSHA Recordkeeping

    OSHA’s Form 300A posting deadline is February 1! Are you prepared? To help answer your key recordkeeping questions, IndustrySafe put together this guide with critical compliance information.

  • Steps to Conduct a JSA

    We've put together a comprehensive step-by-step guide to help you perform a job safety analysis (JSA), which includes a pre-built, JSA checklist and template, steps of a JSA, list of potential job hazards, and an overview of hazard control hierarchy.

  • Everything You Need to Know about Incident investigations

    Need some tips for conducting an incident investigation at work after there’s been an occupational injury or illness, or maybe even a near miss? This guide presents a comprehensive overview of methods of performing incident investigations to lead you through your next steps.

  • Free Safety Management Software Demo

    IndustrySafe Safety Management Software helps organizations to improve safety by providing a comprehensive toolset of software modules to help businesses identify trouble spots; reduce claims, lost days, OSHA fines; and more.

  • Industry Safe
Bulwark CP

OH&S Digital Edition

  • OHS Magazine Digital Edition - October 2020

    October 2020


      EHS Compliance: Make it Personal
      Choosing the Right Safety Shoe for Your Industry
      A Requirements Checklists for Work Safety Gloves
      Contemporary Issues in HSE Management
    View This Issue