Watchdog Group to Issue Report on 50 'Dirtiest' U.S. Power Plants

The Environmental Integrity Project (EIP), a nonprofit Washington, D.C.-based watchdog group, will release on July 26 new data on what it calls "the United States' 50 dirtiest power plants," which by one measure account for 14 percent of all similar electricity-generating facilities in the nation but 40 percent of their combined pollution output. Texas, with five pollution-heavy power plants by the group's standards, will be named dirtiest of the top dirty dozen states, EIP says. Other states on the list and their number of power plants needing cleaning are: Pennsylvania (four); Indiana (four); Alabama (three); Georgia (three); North Carolina (three); Ohio (three); West Virginia (three); Wyoming (two); Florida (two); Kentucky (two); and New Mexico (two).

EIP has scheduled a live, telephone-based news conference with Q&A at 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT on July 26. Dial 1-800-860-2442, and ask for the "50 dirtiest power plants" news event. For those who cannot participate, a streaming audio recording of the news event will be available on the Web as of 6 p.m. EDT/3 p.m. PDT on July 26 at http://www.environmentalintegrity.org. The data also will be posted at 1:30 p.m. EDT that same day at www.DirtyKilowatts.org, the group says.

 

Download Center

HTML - No Current Item Deck

OH&S Digital Edition

  • OHS Magazine Digital Edition - April 2021

    April 2021

    Featuring:

    • TRAINING: ELECTRICAL SAFETY
      Tips on Creating an Effective Electrical PPE Programs
    • PPE: VISION PROTECTION
      Considerations for Choosing Eye Protection
    • WELDING
      A New Paradigm for Reducing Contaminated Welds
    • CONFINED SPACES
      Limiting the Risk of Exposure with the Correct PPE
    View This Issue